Last reviewed: October 25, 2026. Rates come from the schools' own published price sheets, each dated below. Prices change often and schools define "per hour" differently, so use this page to learn what to ask, then get a current written quote.
A single helicopter lesson has several price tags: the aircraft, the instructor, ground time and sometimes fuel and tax. A sheet that looks inexpensive per hour can cost more once the missing pieces are added. This guide shows the published rates, how to combine them, and which fees schools add.
Quick answerHourly cost depends on the aircraft, whether the rate includes the instructor and fuel, and the school. Published examples: the Robinson R22 at $350 an hour and the R44 at $570 an hour, with flight instruction at $65 an hour on top (Hillsboro Aero Academy, effective Nov. 1, 2026), and R22 dual instruction at $395 an hour, R44 dual at $695 and the turbine R66 at $1,595 (Quantum Helicopters, effective Jan. 1, 2026). Schools bill fuel, tax, ground time and fees differently, so compare total itemized cost, not the headline rate.
What one lesson hour includes
A lesson hour can mix four charges:
- Aircraft time. Billed per hour, usually from the aircraft's hour meter or a Hobbs-style timer. Ask which clock the school uses, because it can differ from the time you are airborne.
- Instructor time. Flight instruction is often billed separately from the aircraft. Some sheets show a combined "dual" rate.
- Ground time. Pre-flight and post-flight briefings and ground instruction, billed per hour or bundled.
- Fuel and taxes. A rate may be "wet" (fuel included) or "dry," and may be shown "plus tax."
Pelican Flight Training takes a different approach and quotes all-inclusive program prices that bundle aircraft, fuel and instructor time (page undated, retrieved Oct. 25, 2026).
Published hourly rates
| Item |
Hillsboro Aero Academy (effective Nov. 1, 2026) |
Quantum Helicopters (effective Jan. 1, 2026) |
| Robinson R22 |
$350 an hour |
$350 solo or rental (plus tax); $395 an hour with instruction |
| Robinson R44 |
$570 an hour |
$695 an hour with instruction |
| Robinson R66 (turbine) |
Not listed in our review |
$1,595 an hour |
| Flight instruction |
$65 an hour |
Included in the "dual" rate |
| Ground instruction |
$32 an hour for group ground; $65 an hour individual flight and ground instruction |
$75 an hour |
Sources: flyhaa.com/helicopter-rates; quantumhelicopters.com/tuition-and-other-estimated-fees. Rates are each school's own and are not directly comparable, because fuel treatment, tax and how instructor time is counted differ.
Putting the pieces together
Adding the aircraft and instructor lines on the Hillsboro sheet gives a flight-instruction hour of $415 in the R22 ($350 plus $65) and $635 in the R44 ($570 plus $65). These are our sums of published lines, not figures quoted by the school, and they exclude any fuel surcharge, ground time and tax. The Quantum sheet states the dual rates directly: $395 for the R22 and $695 for the R44. The difference between schools can come from the aircraft, the region and what is bundled, so a lower number is not automatically better.
Fuel surcharges can apply. Hillsboro Aero Academy says its surcharges are set at market rates and updated weekly (2026).
Why the aircraft matters
Piston helicopters in common training fleets typically cost less per hour than turbine aircraft. On the Quantum sheet, the turbine R66 at $1,595 an hour is more than four times the R22 dual rate of $395 (our comparison of published rates, 2026). Most primary training takes place in piston aircraft, and our R22 vs R44 guide compares them in detail.
Block time and prepaid packages
Some schools offer prepaid blocks of flight time. Published sheets reviewed for this guide did not state discounts for blocks, so this guide does not quote one. If a school offers block time, ask:
- What is the per-hour rate with and without the block?
- Does the block expire, and what happens to unused hours?
- Is the prepaid balance refundable, and how fast?
- What protects the money if the school closes or the aircraft is unavailable?
- Does the block rate change if fuel prices change?
Hillsboro Aero Academy lists a $7,500 refundable program deposit, and Quantum lists a $1,000 deposit to reserve a training date and says no large prepaid balance is expected (2026 sheets). Compare the refund terms, not just the amounts.
Hidden and add-on fees
Published sheets and FAA rules show several charges that sit outside the hourly rate. See our full cost guide for details.
- Medical exam. Required for training (14 CFR 61.23). Quantum estimates about $175 and notes it varies by examiner (2026).
- Written knowledge tests. Both Hillsboro Aero Academy and Quantum list $175 per test (2026).
- Checkride and examiner fees. Hillsboro lists a designated examiner fee of $700 to $950 plus a $500 examining fee for private, instrument and CFI practical tests (effective Nov. 1, 2026). Quantum lists $900 to $1,200 per checkride (2026).
- Application and registration. Hillsboro lists a $50 application fee and a $100 student registration fee, and a recommended $900 Robinson safety course (effective Nov. 1, 2026).
- Headset and supplies. Quantum estimates a headset at $300 to $1,000 (2026).
- Ground school. Hillsboro's private pilot price includes 35 hours of group ground instruction at $1,120 (effective Nov. 1, 2026).
- Extra hours. Hours beyond the school's assumptions are billed at the hourly rate. Quantum lists average student hours above the FAA minimums, for example 70 dual and 10 solo hours for the private certificate against a 40-hour minimum (2026). The FAA says most people need 60 to 75 hours (FAA, Pilot Schools Information, general figure, not helicopter-specific).
- Retakes and extra lessons after a failed checkride or a long break.
- Insurance. Ask what coverage the school requires and get a written quote from an insurer. Costs vary by policy.
How to compare two lesson prices
- Write down what each rate includes: aircraft, instructor, fuel, tax, ground.
- Convert both to the same lesson hour (aircraft plus instructor plus fuel plus tax).
- Ask for the average hours students need, not just the FAA minimum.
- Multiply the lesson-hour cost by that average to estimate the total for each certificate.
- Add the fees above.
- Get the result in a written, itemized quote. Our school criteria list further questions.
An ask-this tip: "What is the all-in cost of one flight hour with instruction, including fuel and tax, in the aircraft I will train in?"
Frequently asked questions
How much does a helicopter lesson cost?
It depends on the school and aircraft. Published examples from October 2026 sources: $350 for the R22 aircraft plus $65 for flight instruction at Hillsboro Aero Academy, and $395 for R22 dual instruction at Quantum Helicopters. Ask for an all-in quote.
How much does a helicopter flight cost per hour?
Per-hour rates range widely by aircraft. On the Quantum sheet, R22 dual is $395, R44 dual is $695 and the turbine R66 is $1,595 (effective Jan. 1, 2026). Confirm current prices with the school.
Is helicopter training more expensive than airplane training?
At the one school we checked that publishes both, yes. Hillsboro lists the Cessna 152 at $167 an hour and the R22 at $350 (effective Nov. 1, 2026). One school is one data point, so compare operators near you.
Is block time cheaper?
Sheets we reviewed did not state a block discount, so we cannot say. Ask for the per-hour rate with and without a block and read the refund terms.
What fees do schools add?
Examiner fees, knowledge test fees, registration fees, safety course, headset, medical exam, fuel surcharges and tax are examples from published sheets. See the lists above.
Can you finance lessons?
Options include savings, loans and veteran education benefits, subject to rules. See our financing guide.
Sources
- Hillsboro Aero Academy, Helicopter Rental Rates and Fees, prices effective Nov. 1, 2026. https://flyhaa.com/helicopter-rates/. Retrieved October 25, 2026.
- Hillsboro Aero Academy, Airplane Rates and Fees, prices effective Nov. 1, 2026. https://flyhaa.com/airplane-rates/. Retrieved October 25, 2026.
- Quantum Helicopters, Tuition and Other Estimated Fees, prices effective Jan. 1, 2026. https://www.quantumhelicopters.com/tuition-and-other-estimated-fees/. Retrieved October 25, 2026.
- Quantum Helicopters, Programs/Pricing, 2026. https://www.quantumhelicopters.com/helicopter-training-program-pricing/. Retrieved October 25, 2026.
- Pelican Flight Training, Helicopter Pilot Training (undated). https://pelicanflightschool.com/helicopter-pilot-training. Retrieved October 25, 2026.
- Federal Aviation Administration, Pilot Schools Information. https://www.faa.gov/training_testing/training/pilot_schools. Retrieved October 25, 2026.
- U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, Title 14, section 61.23, eCFR text current as of October 22, 2026. https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-14. Retrieved October 25, 2026.
Disclosure: this page may contain ads and referral links; if you request quotes through a form on this site, your details may be shared with the schools you choose and we may be paid a referral fee. Paid placements are labeled and never change our criteria. See our disclosure(/advertising-and-affiliate-disclosure/). This is general information, not financial advice.